And the Winner Is ….


Rosangela Rennó, A01 [COD.] – A27 [S | COD.23]

The Paris Photo-Aperture Foundation Photo Book Awards have been announced: A01 [COD.] — A27 [S | COD.23] by Rosângela Rennó (Self-published) has been selected as the PhotoBook of the Year. Part of a trilogy, the book focuses on the transformation of Rio de Janeiro and the disappearances of images by Augusto Malta and his sons, who worked for the city for over fifty years.

KARMA by Óscar Monzón (RVB Books, Paris / Dalpine, Madrid) is the winner of $10,000 in the First PhotoBook category. KARMA focuses on cars as a means of transportation and an element of an individual's identity.

The initial selection was made in New York by Vince Aletti, curator and photography critic for the New Yorker who writes Photograph’s Photo Books column; Julien Frydman, director of Paris Photo; Lesley A. Martin, publisher of the Aperture book program; Mutsuko Ota, editorial director of IMA magazine; and Barbara Tannenbaum, curator of photography at the Cleveland Museum of Art.


Óscar Monzón, KARMA

A jury in Paris, including Gerry Badger, photographer and critic; Tobia Bezzola, director of Folkwang Museum (Essen); Harald Falckenberg, Sammlung Falckenberg / Deichtorhallen Hamburg; Thyago Nogueira, Contemporary Photography Coordinator / ZUM Magazine editor, Instituto Moreira Salles (Rio de Janeiro); and Maia-Mari Sutnik, Photography and Special Projects Curator of Art Gallery of Ontario (Toronto), selected the winners.

The 30 photobooks shortlisted for the Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards 2013 are currently being exhibited at Paris Photo at the Grand Palais and will be presented at Aperture Gallery in New York, December 5, 2013–January 30, 2014.